The flip side

Hey! Guess what! The transfer of Just Frances is complete and I’m now running on a self-hosted platform.

It may not seem like a big deal to you, but there are several reasons why you should care:

  • It means a new subscription system, so if you were once a subscriber you may no longer be one. (Sorry, but you can subscribe now!)
  • No more ads! That’s right, no more of those annoying ads at the bottom of the posts. (Yay!)
  • I have more flexibility to make upgrades and changes to the site, which means if there’s some great thing you’d like to see on Just Frances, I may be able to implement it now!
  • It saves my $14.95 a year because I don’t have to pay to have the WordPress.com site mapped to JustFrances.com.
  • The change makes me feel happy, and as a loyal reader you should want me to be happy. (I hope!)

Sadly, the change also means that I lost all of my ratings data so the little stars at the top of each story are all empty—even the ones that had previous 5-star “100% Awesome” ratings. But that’s OK because my 100% awesome readers will soon bump my ego, I’m sure!!

Oh, it also means that I will be rolling out a new look for the site soon. And that’s pretty awesome, don’t you think? And here’s a little sneak-preview as a reward for reading to the end of the post!

2 thoughts on “The flip side

    • This was the easy part–and was done with the help of an amazing person! (Details and complete kudos once all upgrades and testing is complete in a couple of weeks.)

      The next part–rolling out the new look–is the hard part because I’m doing that on my own. Yikes! I don’t actually know CSS and HTML so I have to make it up as I go along…

      (But thanks!)

Leave a Reply

